I thought that I could reach them

The moments that I’d dreamed of

That’s why I walked confidently 

While holding onto some blind faith 

I thought that if I didn’t give up and keep going 

That if I’d given it my all,

I’d see stars before me

And that I’d finally accomplish my dream

I prayed everyday as I only ever looked forward and ran

And hoped that there would be a light at the end of this dark, dim tunnel

I was consumed by hope and ran and ran

Yes, I wanted to see that bright light

It really felt like it wouldn’t be much longer now

And that it was within my reach

So why, why do I still feel like I’m in the same place and that I’m lacking?

In order to run again, I have to endure and get back up

But there are so many parts of reality that are so hard to bear

It feels like I’m being forced off my feet onto the ground

I’m trying my best to hear it because I don’t want to lose

And this is a dream that I want to sacrifice everything in order to achieve 

So why is it getting harder for me as i try harder?

Why isn’t anyone acknowledging my earnesity?

Why am I being toyed with?

I don’t ask for much,

I just want this one thing

But as more time passes all I want to do is sit in defeat 

Why should i have to accept the responsibilities that this world has created me?

Why should I have to endure all this pain?

The world won’t leave me alone and that isn’t my fault 

That’s what I’ve said but all I’ve done was hide and run

Because I’m at a loss

Lord above, I beg you, hear my plead

And I hate that this is the only thing I can do

The only thing I can do is tread on thorns with my bare feet

But I close my eyes and say, ” I pray for my dream,”

#thebesthitep6 #dream #kmj

